UA-33535312-1
Immerse yourself in all things beer
 
Picture
So that first month into my first ever sour beer, a Flanders Red, I couldn't see myself possible forgetting about this mysterious new beer sitting in the dank corner of my basement.  Then out of no where it slipped from my mind until a while back when I went to move a carboy in the basement and decided the three month mark was an appropriate time to steal a tasting.  What I got was a pretty damn good beer; an amazing red color, slightly fruity aroma, no hops, light-bodied, a hint of fruitiness in the taste, incredibly easy to drink and a very slight yet lingering tartness.

So I forgot about it again until today when I decided to sneak a peek under it's tee-shirt and there they were; disgusting, vividly white bubbles!  Pellicle!  I'm assuming I introduced some oxygen to the carboy when I took that sample which prompted its formation.

Like I said this is my first sour so I have no experience here so any comments on the pictures would be great.  I've heard some people do not ever get a pellicle so I was excited to see this nastiness when I pulled off it's shirt.  It truly looks disgusting.  There is just no way around that fact other than to think of how amazing it will be sometime next year.

Here's the recipe just for your reference courtesy of Brew Your Own:

West Flanders Red Ale
by Jeff Sparrow
(5-gallons/19 L, all-grain)
OG = 1.057  FG = 1.002–1.012
IBU = 11  SRM = 22  ABV = 6.5%


Ingredients
  • 5 lbs. 5 oz. (2.4 kg) Vienna malt
  • 2 lbs. 8 oz. (1.1 kg) Pils malt
  • 15 oz. (0.43 kg) aromatic malt
  • 15 oz. (0.43 kg) CaraVienne malt
  • 2 lbs. 2 oz. (0.96 kg) raw wheat
  • 5.0 oz. (0.14 kg) special B malt
  • 3 AAU Hallertau hops (60 mins) (0.75 oz./21 g of 4.0% alpha acids)
  • 2.0 oz. (57 g) oak cubes (medium toast)
  • Wyeast 3763 (Roeselare Blend) or White Labs WLP655 (Belgian Sour Mix)

Picture
It's hard to get a good shot through glass so I popped off the airlock just long enough to get a top down view.
Picture
A bit hard to tell from this angle but there are some bubbles in there that are probably about two inches in diameter.
Picture
Bonus picture of my Barleywine with the Golden Girls keeping the light out. That's right, I have a Golden Girls tee-shirt covering the carboy of my 12.9% Barleywine!
7/25/2012 06:04:31 am

Hey folks; I would love any stories regarding your own sours or any advice for what I should do with this one since I'm a bit of a newbie in this regard. I'm currently debating fruit additions, blending, pitching something else on the yeastcake. All the option are open since I have a few months to decide how to proceed.

Reply



Leave a Reply.