UA-33535312-1
Immerse yourself in all things beer
 
So everything about this beer from inception was a bit of a experiment so let me explain why before briefly going over how it turned out.  

1st: I was planning on going to a music festival for which I wanted some good homebrew to supplement the PBR  but they prohibited glass and kegs so I wanted to test out bottling in 2-Liter bottles.
2nd: I had never used Citra hops and had some laying around so I wanted to test them out.
3rd: I have never really tried hopbursting a beer before and wanted to try that out.  
4th: I have never done a SMaSH recipe before and wanted to try that out.

So first off the 2-liter bottling was a great success.  I did a 2.25 gallon batch and had just over enough for three 2-liter bottles.  I used Root-beer and Ginger Ale bottles and even after cleaning with PBW and sanitizing with Star San the smell of the soda wafted out while I was bottling but luckily the Citra hops overpowered anything left behind during drinking.  I used Northern Brewers priming sugar calculator and it carbed up just perfect in two weeks and with a full campsite of people we were able to drink each bottle quickly enough that there were no issues with the beer going flat.  Overall I thought this was a great idea for special occasions like this because it was easy to transport, share and then clean up with no negative affect on the beer.  

Secondly; Citra Hops are awesome!  They were packed full of aroma and flavor and I have never heard of a more appropriately named hop.  Honestly, as much as I liked them I think they would be even better as an accent hop because while they were great by themselves I found the beer overall to be a bit simplistic in taste.  Perhaps with a more traditional bittering addition they really would have thrived.  Or with another flavor addition and then utilizing these as a aroma and dry-hop addition.

Thirdly; hopbursting was interesting to try.  I went with no bittering addition and did a 15, 10, 5, 0 hop schedule with a half ounce of Citra each time and my kitchen smelled glorious.  However, while I was being punched in the face with the Citra aroma and flavor the beer seemed to be a bit lacking in complexity.

Fourth and finally I failed miserably at the SMaSH recipe.  Maybe someday but every time I attempt to do one I find myself adding something at the store.  This time it was 5% Honey Malt which in the end I think did add to the sweetness and was  nice complement to the Citra.  I also tossed two ounces of Midnight Wheat in for a color adjustment which wound up being over the top and producing a much darker wort that I had expected.

Overall though this beer was pretty tasty and exactly what I was shooting for on a hot summers day.  The simplicity of the grist along with the crispness of the San Francisco Lager Yeast really let the hops shine through while producing a very sessionable tasting 5% beer. 

Hybrid Citraburst 
American Pale Ale 
Batch Size (fermenter): 2.25 gal 
Brewer: Charles Madison 
Brewhouse Efficiency: 65.00 %

Ingredients Amt Name Type # %/IBU 
4 lbs 12.0 oz Briess 2-Row Brewers Malt (1.8 SRM) Grain 1 92.7 % 
4.0 oz Honey Malt (25.0 SRM) Grain 2 4.9 % 
2.0 oz Midnight Wheat (550.0 SRM) Grain 3 2.4 % 

0.50 oz Citra [12.00 %] - Boil 15.0 min Hop 4 21.1 IBUs 
0.50 oz Citra [12.00 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 5 15.4 IBUs 
0.50 oz Citra [12.00 %] - Boil 5.0 min Hop 6 9.3 IBUs 
0.50 oz Citra [12.00 %] - Boil 0.0 min Hop 7 0.0 IBUs 

San Francisco Lager yeast slurry from previous batch



Leave a Reply.