UA-33535312-1
Immerse yourself in all things beer
 
Hop outlook for 2012 not great.  As of right now I have two plants growing.  A third year Fuggle is over in the corner of the yard strung up on a wooden trellis with some clotheslines while a first year Nugget is growing close to house and simply strung up to the window with some string that will need to be replaced next year.  

The Fuggle:
Not even sure I really like these hops but having them laying around in excess this winter seemed like a good chance for me to get more acquainted with them.  I'm sure in some combination they could be complimentary rather than just tasting like dirt on their own.  But perhaps I won't get the chance; the aphids got after these guys good and after trying soap and water and a chemical spray it looks like I may be too late.  They are wrinkling up and dying just as some lovely buds are starting to form... 

The Nuggs:
These fellas are doing much, much better than the Fuggle being in another corner of the yard.  There were some aphids early on but I hit them with the spray and they seem to be doing fine.  They have grown up to the house so I'll need to string up somewhere else for them to grow.  I was thinking about pulling them horizontally underneath the windowsill so maybe I'll try that out.  Not sure if they will produce anything this year but maybe I'll get lucky and snag a few latter on.

Fuggle

Picture
Almost everything near the top of the trellis has withered away by now.
Picture
A closer look. More and more are getting brown and dying.
Picture
And they were doing so well. Probably about 15ft long I'd guess.
Picture
And the saddest part....the buds are coming in but the plant might be dead before they can grown up to be made into wonderful, delicious beer....

Nugget

Picture
These Nuggets leafs are much more promising though.
Picture
They're growing nicely and starting to wrap a couple more shoots up the original one.
Picture
Going crazy near the bottom. Maybe I'll trim some of that back in hopes that the main vine can get some first year production.
8/3/2012 07:43:18 pm

Excellent! I admire all the helpful data you've shared in your articles. I'm looking forward for more helpful articles from you. :)

Joseph Aidan
www.arielmed.com

Reply
10/2/2012 03:14:19 pm

Really very good and I appreciate it. It’s hard to sort out between good and bad sometimes; you write very well which is amazing. I really impressed by your post.

Reply
7/24/2020 01:29:14 am

I don t have the time at the moment to fully read your site but I have bookmarked it . I will be back in a day or two. thanks for a great site. If you want to find idol's account on isntagram, please coming our site

Reply
8/5/2022 02:45:34 am

Greennnn

Reply



Leave a Reply.