UA-33535312-1
Immerse yourself in all things beer
 
Picture
I know there are a lot of homebrewers out there who love their Simcoe hops so when I stumbled upon this brew at the store the other day I couldn't help but pick it up.  

The first thing that hits you is the smell.  It's terrific like any good IPA needs to be.  Grapefruity, citrusy, piney awesomeness!  I think my beer rolled around in the car a bit on the way home so I got a yeast infused, hazy brownish orange color which was pretty dark for the style. 

When thinking of an IPA I think of hoppy and crisp so this beer, while it was very good, had a bit too much body and sweet malty flavor for my preference.  That of course is just one mans opinion and should not be counted against it because it is well balanced for an IPA and drinkable for a 9% beer.  With all that malty sweetness and Simcoe flavor this could be drank and enjoyed young for all the Simcoe hop-heads out there or could probably be aged for a while as more of a barleywine type ale.  Either way, moderately priced and good with a cool bottle.  Go get one.

10/1/2013 09:56:56 am

Loved your blog layout that I created a weebly account too.

Reply



Leave a Reply.